International Geographical Union--Union Géographique Internationale

From the Office of the President: Professor Vladimir Kolossov Institute of Geography of the Russian Academy of Sciences Staromonetny per., 29, 119017 Moscow, Russia Vox: +7 495 959 0029; Fax: +7 495 959 0033 E-Mail: presidentIGU@gmail.com; vladimirkolossov@gmail.com



URL: http://www.igu-online.org

Professor Maria Dolors García-Ramón Departament de Geografía Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona ES - 08193 Bellaterra / Spain

Dear Professor García-Ramón,

On behalf of the *International Geographical Union*/IGU and its *IGU Honours and Awards Committee* I feel honoured and pleased to offer you the highly prestigious *IGU Lauréat d'Honneur* award, to be handed over during the upcoming 33rd *International Geographical Congress*/IGC 2016 in Beijing (Aug. 21 - 25, 2016). This award was established in 1976 in order to recognize individuals who have achieved particular distinction or who have rendered outstanding service in the work of the IGU, or in international geography and environmental research. It might be of interest to you that, among others, Peter Haggett and Paul Claval were past recipients of this award (cf. IGU Roll-of-Honours, http://igu-online.org).

In this way, we want to show our deeply felt appreciation for your work as a most distinguished researcher and mentor who has promoted gender studies in geography and advanced linguistic and cultural diversity in the construction and dissemination of knowledge, thus also contributing in a highly successful way to establish and enrich these fields of research and action in the IGU world.

Please accept our heartfelt invitation to be our guest and to join our international geographical communities gathering in Beijing in order to personally receive the award during a plenary session of the 33rd *International Geographical Congress*/IGC 2016.

Sincerely,

Vladimir Kolosov President

International Geographical Union Executive Committee, 2014-2016

Vladimir Kolossov, Russia, President

Michael Meadows, South Africa, Secretary-General and Treasurer

Dietrich Soyez, Germany, First Vice President Elena dell'Agnese, Italy, Vice President Joos Droogleever-Fortuijn, Netherlands Vice President Iain Hay, Australia, Vice President RB Singh, India, Vice President Ronald F. Abler, USA, *Past President* Zhou Chenghu, China-Beijing, *Vice President* Yukio Himiyama, Japan, *Vice-President* Jarkko Saarinen, Finland, *Vice President*