> Versión en castellano

The Board of Directors of the AGE, in order to improve the fulfillment of their main objectives, promoting and developing the Spanish geographic science, has agreed to conduct several calls to reward the best research in Geography. So far, the following awards have been announced:


Award Jesús García Fernández for Young Researchers

This award aims to stimulate the completion of research in different fields of knowledge related to Geography by young researchers partners of the AGE, either from a theoretical and methodological perspective, applied or through the study of cases. The award is named after Professor Jesús García Fernández, who was the first president of the Association of Spanish Geographers in recognition of his research work and its continued commitment to the formation of several generations of young geographers from different Spanish universities, particularly in conducting fieldwork.

> Read more


Award Roser Majoral Moliné for the best article published in a foreign journal

With this award the AGE wants to appreciate the international projection of scientific articles written by partners of the AGE. The award is named after Professor Roser Majoral Moliné in recognition of her active engagement in improving the international projection of the Spanish Geography, particularly in the sphere of UGI.

> Read more


Award Manuel de Terán Álvarez for the best doctoral thesis

Award for the best doctoral thesis defended by partners of the AGE. The award is named after Manuel de Terán Álvarez in recognition of his unquestioned mastery in the scientific and academic development of Spanish Geography.

> Read more

Award New Territorial Culture

Since 2009, the Association of Spanish Geographers and the College of Geographers jointly have announced biennially the Prize New Territorial Culture. The award, with no monetary prize, aims to promote a new culture of territory by recognition of people, organizations and institutions who have contributed significantly to the promotion of the spatial planning and the land management based on values of environmental sustainability, economic efficiency and social equity.

In 2009 the Prize, in the first edition, was awarded to Mr. Andres Rabago “El Roto”. In 2011 the Prize was granted to the Cesar Manrique Foundation. Most recently, in 2013, the award was given to Professor PhD Ángel Cabo Alonso.

> Read more